Skip navigationSDAT HomeAbout SDATBusinessesReal PropertyTax & AssessmentsForms & ApplicationsDATSTATSServices
::Corporate Charter
Chimney Sweep, Baltimore

Fee Schedule for Documents Relating to Corporate Charters

  • Explanation of service fees
    Regular Service Fee: It may take 10 weeks or more to receive your confirmation.  Expedited Service Fees: Requests will be responded to within 7 business days for faxes and mail. Faxed request are available for MasterCard and Visa card holders only.  For your convenience use the Charter Fax Cover Sheet.


  • Documents hand-delivered in limited quantities receive same day service between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm.  You must be in line no later than 4:15 PM in order to receive service that same day. Hand-delivered transactions are to be paid by check, cash or money order. There is an expedited fee for same day service for document processing.

  • Return Mail Processing/Document Return Fee
    All filers of business entity charter documents must indicate at the time of filing if they are “opting out” of having their original filed documents returned to them. If a filer wishes to have the original documents returned, then he or she must pay an additional $5.00 filing fee with the payment of the other fees for the processing of the documents. If the $5.00 fee is not paid, the Department will assume the filer did not want the original documents returned. Images of all documents are available at no charge for viewing and printing within 10 business days of their processing by searching the Business database.

  • Rejected Corporate Charter Documents
    Please note that under *Maryland law a filer has sixty (60) days from the date of our initial rejection of a filing to correct any rejected document and resubmit it or all filing fees are retained by the Department for reviewing the first filing. If a document is resubmitted after the sixtieth day, another separate filing fee must be paid with the second submission. If a filer chooses not to resubmit the document for filing, a demand for a refund must be made in writing within sixty (60) days of the date of the initial rejection of the document.

For your convenience the filing fees for documents in light brown text can be calculated online via a fee calculation page.
Type of Filing
Fee
Organization &
Capitalization Fee
Expedited
Service Fee
Return Mail Fee
Articles of Incorporation:
 *Non-stock, Professional and Religious, Stock and Close
- aggregate par value of stock is not over $100,000.
$100
                   *$20
You must pay this fee if you submit any of these documents.
$50
$5
Non-stock corporations that will seek tax-exempt status under IRS Code Sections 501(c)(3), (4), or (6) will be charged an additional $50.00 to file Articles of Incorporation. The money collected will go to the Maryland Not-For-Profit Development Center Program Fund.
Articles of Amendment
$100
Only when aggregate par value of stock is increasing
$50
$5
Articles of Restatement
$100
none
$50
$5
Articles of Supplementary
$100
Only when aggregate par value of stock is increasing
$50
$5
Articles of Dissolution (including cost of publication)
$100
none
$50
$5
Articles of Revival
$100
none
$50
$5
Articles of Share Exchange
$100
none
$50
$5
**Articles of Transfer
$100
none
$50
$5
**Articles of Merger
$100
Only when aggregate par value of stock is increasing
$50
$5
**Articles of Consolidation
$100
Only when aggregate par value of stock is increasing
$50
$5
Certificate of Correction
$25
Only when aggregate par value of stock is increasing
$50
$5
Certificate of Notice
$25
none
$50
$5
Notice of Change of Principal Office
$25 per entity
none
$50
$5
Notice of Change of Name or Address of Resident Agent
$25 per entity
none
$50
$5
Resignation of Resident Agent
none
not applicable
not applicable
not applicable

Documents Relating to Foreign Corporations
Fee
Expedited
Service
Return Mail
Registration of Name for a calendar year
$100
$50
not applicable
Qualification to do intrastate business
$100
$50
$5
Requalification of a cancelled corporation
$100
$50
$5
Certified Statement of amendment, merger, dissolution&nbsp
$25
$50
$5
Application for termination of registration or qualifications
$25
$50
$5
Notice of Change of Principal Office
$25
$50
$5
Notice of Change of Name or Address or Resident Agent
$25
$50
$5
Documents Relating to Limited Partnerships   
Certificate of Limited Partnerships
$100
$50
$5
Certificate of Amendment
$100
$50
$5
Certificate of Cancellation
$100
$50
$5
Certificate of Reinstatement (domestic)
$100
$50
$5
Registration of Foreign Limited Partnership
$100
$50
$5
Other Certificates of Foreign Limited Partnership
$25
$50
$5
**Articles of Merger
$100
$50
$5
Certificate of Correction
$25
$50
$5
Documents Relating to Limited Liability Companies  
Articles of Organization
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Amendment to Articles of Organization
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Certificate of Correction
$25 (domestic)
$50
$5
Articles of Dissolution
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Articles of Continuation
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Articles of Cancellation
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Articles of Merger
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Registration
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Certificate of Amendment
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Cancellation of Registration
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Certificate of Merger
$25 (foreign)
$50
$5
Change of Principal Office Resident Agent & Resident Agent's Address
$25 (foreign & domestic)
$50
$5
Articles of Reinstatement
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Documents Relating to Limited Liability Partnerships  
Certificate of Limited Liability Partnership
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Amendment
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Withdrawal Notice of a Partner
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Certificate of Reinstatement
$100 (domestic)
$50
$5
Registration
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Amendment
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Cancellation
$100 (foreign)
$50
$5
Documents Relating to Trade Names  
Trade Name Filing
$25
$50
not applicable
Trade Name Amendment
$25
$50
not applicable
Trade Name Cancellation
$25
$50
not applicable
Documents Relating to Financing Statements
All UCC documents 8 pages or fewer
$25
$50
not applicable
All UCC documents 9 pages or more
$75
$50
not applicable
Other Fees  
Reservation of Corporate or Limited Partnership Name, LLC or LLP Name
$25
$20
 Not applicable
Certificate of Good Standing
$20
$20
 Not applicable
Long form certificate of Good Standing
$20
 Not applicable
 Not applicable
Duplicate original of Certificates mentioned above, which are issued at the same time as original
$1 each
Not applicable 
Not applicable
Duplicate original of long form certificates of good standing, which are issued at the same time as the original
$2 each
Not applicable 
Not applicable
Abstract of Corporate Records
$20
$20 
 Not applicable
Certificates relating to the status of foreign corporations
$20
$20
Not applicable
Copies of documents on file with the Department
$1 per page and $20 for the certification of copy
$20 per document
 Not applicable
Certified copies of charter documents requested at time of recordation
$20 for the first certified copy and $1 for each additional certified copy, plus $1 per page for additional copies of the same the document.
$20 per document
 Not applicable
Service of Process: Requires 2 copies of the complaint and 2 copies of the summons
$50 per defendant
 Not applicable 
 Not applicable

Documents preceded by ** may require Certificates of Conveyance. The fee for each certificate is $25.00, plus the $5.00 Return Mail Processing fee. Call the Department at (410) 767-1340 for further information as to whether these certificates apply to a particular transaction.

Make checks payable to: State Department of Assessments and Taxation.
Mail to:
State Department of Assessments and Taxation
Corporate Charter Division
301 W. Preston St. Room 801
Baltimore, MD 21201

You may fax your request to Fax 410-333-7097      For your convenience use the Charter Fax Cover Sheet
For a complete listing of the fee charges for each type of transaction, you can obtain a pamphlet from the Department.
Contact the Charter Division at 410-767-1340.