## Maryland State Department of Assessments & Taxation TRADE NAME APPLICATION

FILING FEE: \$25.00; EXPEDITED FEE: ADDITIONAL \$50.00; TOTAL EXPEDITED SERVICE: \$75.00 (Make checks payable to Department of Assessments and Taxation)

Note: Prior to registering the business name of a home improvement company with the Department of Assessments & Taxation, an applicant is advised to contact the Home Improvement Commission at 410-230-6171 to ensure a specific name is available.

1) **TRADE NAME:** (Only one trade name may appear on this line)

## 2) STREET ADDRESS(ES) WHERE NAME IS USED:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

Post office box number is only accepted when part of the physical address.

### 3) FULL LEGAL NAME OF OWNER OF BUSINESS OR INDIVIDUAL USING THE TRADE NAME:

If more than one owner, attach an additional sheet listing each owner with his/her address. Be sure each owner signs this form.

#### 4) If the owner is an individual or general partnership, do they have a personal property

**account** (an "L" number)? Circle one: YES NO

IF YES, WHAT IS THAT NUMBER?

IF NO, see item 4 of the Trade Name Application Instructions.

5) ADDRESS OFOWNER:

CITY:

STATE:

Post office box number is only accepted when part of the physical address.

6) DESCRIPTION OFBUSINESS:

I affirm and acknowledge under penalties of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

SIGNATURE OF OWNER (AUTHORIZED TITLE)

SIGNATURE OF OWNER (AUTHORIZED TITLE)

ZIP:

SIGNATURE OF OWNER (AUTHORIZED TITLE)

SIGNATURE OF OWNER (AUTHORIZED TITLE)

30I West Preston Street- Room 801 - Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Phone: (410) 767-1350 - TTY Users call Maryland Relay 1-800-735-2258 - Toll Free in MD: 1-888-246-5941 Website: http://www.dat.maryland.gov



MARYLAND STATE DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENTS & TAXATION

301 WEST PRESTON STREET, BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21201-2395

**Revised January 2023** Page 1

# TRADE NAME APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

#### **General Information**

**Registering this trade name will not guarantee acceptance by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission.** Prior to registering the business name of a home improvement company with the Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation, an applicant is advised to contact the Home Improvement Commission at <u>410-230-6171</u> to ensure a specific name is available.

1. The fee is \$25.00. Checks should be payable to: DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENTS AND TAXATION

Filings submitted in hard copy may be hand delivered to drop boxes that SDAT maintains in the building lobby at 301 W. Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201. Please check the SDAT website for additional instructions regarding drop box submissions.

Mail the completed form and check to: Charter Division Department of Assessments and Taxation 301 W. Preston Street, Room 801 Baltimore, Maryland 21201

2. For same day service the expedite fee is \$425.00. Same day filings may be submitted online or hand delivered to the drop box by 10:00 am Monday-Friday. Fees must be paid by check or money order. No cash is accepted. Please visit our online business registration portal to register your trade name: https://egov.maryland.gov/business express

3. Trade name applications must be signed to be accepted.

4. If the name is available and all items on the form are completed, SDAT will accept the filing for record and an acknowledgement, with the filing date will be sent to the "Address of Owner" (unless otherwise stated), ordinarily within 4 weeks of acceptance.

5. This filing is effective for five years from the date of acceptance by SDAT. During the last six months of the period the filing may be renewed for an additional five years. If not renewed, the Department will forfeit the trade name and a new application must be filed.

**NOTICE**: Acceptance of a trade name application does not confer on the owner any greater right to use the name than he otherwise already has. The Department checks the name only against other trade names filed with this Department. Federal trademarks, State service marks, records in other states and trade names are not meant to reserve the name for its owners, to act as a trademark filing or to confer on the owner any greater right to the name than he already possesses. For further information, contact your lawyer, accountant or financial advisor.

Revised: January 2023

#### HOW TO COMPLETE TRADE NAME APPLICATION

**All** blanks on the form must be typed or printed legibly, with black ink, with an original signature (no stamps, photocopies or carbon copy).

Numbers correspond to item numbers on the trade name application:

- TRADE NAME Only one trade name may appear on this line. To file more than one trade name, complete a separate application for each and send separate checks. No trade name may contain a term that implies it is a type of entity that it is not (i.e., if the owner is an individual, "Inc." cannot be in the trade name). Check the name on the business data search section of our web site www.dat.maryland.gov.
- 2. STREET ADDRESS(ES) WHERE NAME IS USED List the full address, including street address, city, state and zip code. Post office box number is only accepted when part of the physical address. Out-of-state addresses areacceptable.
- 3. FULL NAME OF LEGAL ENTITY OR INDIVIDUAL USING THE TRADE NAME Legal entities may be owners of the trade name. If the legal entity is the owner, the legal entity must be registered with MD Dept of Assessments and Taxation. If more than one owner, attach an additional sheet listing each owner with his/her address. Be sure each owner signs this form.
- 4. UNINCORPORATED ACCOUNT (answer YES or NO). If yes, indicate unincorporated account number. Note: All Unincorporated businesses that own or lease personal property (furniture, fixtures, tools, machinery, equipment, etc.) or anticipate owning or leasing personal property in the future or need a business license must file an annual personal property return with this Department. Registration applications can be obtained by contacting your local Assessment office or by calling (410) 767-1170.
- ADDRESS OF OWNER List the full address including street address, city, state and zip code. Post office box number is only accepted when a part of the physical address. Attach an additional sheet for all owners' addresses, if needed.
- 6. **DESCRIPTION OF BUSINESS** State the nature of business.
- 7. SIGNATURE Each person listed as an owner must sign. If a legal entity is the owner of the trade name, the person who signs for the entity must list his/her title.

Note: The laws governing the formation and operation of business entities involves more than filing documents with our office, we suggest you consult an attorney, accountant or other professional. The State Department of Assessments & Taxation staff cannot offer business counseling or legal advice.

Revised: January 2023